RSS Feed

Crafty Craft Crafting!

Good evening all!
I thought I’d check in and share a little crafty craft project I’ve been working on tonight.
I found the idea on Pinterest
a few days ago. It seemed brilliant, as I can never seem to find light switch plates that fit, that I like, or that don’t cost a ton.

So here we go.
All you need is:
1) Scracpbook paper
2) Mod Podge (I chose gloss)
3) Foam brush (sponge)
4) Exacto knife

Pretty easy right?

First, remove your light switch plate, place on wrong side of paper and trace, then, cut out.

20120801-205926.jpg

Next, spread Mod Podge on plate switch AND wrong side of paper with a sponge brush.

20120801-210041.jpg

20120801-210105.jpg

Flip over and use one coat of Mod Podge. Let dry a little.
Then, take your Exacto knife and cut the outlet or switch holes.

20120801-210341.jpg

Then, continue to add layers of Mod Podge, letting dry a bit between each layer.

This is my almost finished plate. I still need to work on the edges and apply a few more coats, but so far so good!

20120801-210708.jpg

20120801-210810.jpg

About Tricia #GrowingUpNelson

First grandaughter, mother of two, lover of books and bad music, aspiring to be a mostly vegan always vegetarian. Nearly 365 days Xanax free and hating it. #GrowingUpNelson

3 responses »

  1. Dude, why didn’t I think of this? I bet I could do this with fabric scraps from my drapes in the kitchen. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. My mom use to do a similar thing with wall paper. I still remember working on all the light-switches and outlet covers with her.

    Nicely done!

    Reply
  3. weird…for some reason your posts totally stopped popping up until now. I realize you didn’t actually go anywhere, but good to see you again! And nicely done on the plate covers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

