RSS Feed

Another Day in Paradise

Well for all the swearing he did that he was going to get his act together at the services hearing, I’m surprised that I am saying this evening that bio dad did not show for his visit today.
Visitation consists of waking up early, getting A to either school or to a friend who is willing to watch him now that school is out, and driving one hour to the social services office. I pack diapers for bio dad to use, bottles, food and a blanket for her to play on. I lug all of this in to the office and sit for two hours while they play. (or less if he cuts the visit short, which happens frequently). Today I waited 20 minutes (the required is 15) and then I lugged all of her stuff back to the car and drove an hour back home.
This sucked even more due to the fact that I was up all night with both kids, one teething and one having asthma problems. Both were tired, whiny, and didn’t want to get up. After getting approximately two hours of sleep, I was tired, whiny and didn’t want to get up!!
Since his visits have been lessened to only one time a month, he won’t be able to see her again until mid July. Days like today I just don’t feel the sympathy for him that I usually feel.

The good news is that we got back into town early enough to go to my Aunt’s house and swim!

20120612-210142.jpg

Baby girl is SO content in the water. And I know I’ve said it a million times, but this amazes me because she was so terrified of it when she first came to us. It is so fun to watch her lazily float around and splash her hands and enjoy it!

Hopefully tonight we will ALL get some sleep and be rested and be a little bit less of a crabby household tomorrow!

I think the fact that husband is out to dinner tonight at a swanky restaurant in an even swankier seaside town and I’ve been with the two crabsters all day means that HE gets to do the dirty work tonight, right?

About Tricia #GrowingUpNelson

First grandaughter, mother of two, lover of books and bad music, aspiring to be a mostly vegan always vegetarian. Nearly 365 days Xanax free and hating it. #GrowingUpNelson

4 responses »

  1. Good for you for slugging through all of this. One step at a time. You’re doing great!

    Reply
  2. She is one contented looking little lass. I am glad she got her swim at least. I second Alicia, you are doing brilliantly.

    Reply
  3. How sweet she is in that picture! And I love that little float. I’m going to have to look into one of those for my boys since I can only hold one in a pool at a time. Although they may be too big.

    Sorry the trip was a bust. And sorry about the lack of sleep last night. Teething bites. 😉

    Reply
  4. She’s such a cutie! I’m glad the day wasn’t a complete waste.

    I know it’s frustrating to do all of this. To effectively be a parent for someone who isn’t capable to parent to begin with. But, by doing this, you are laying a firm foundation for the future. And, even though it’s a hard thing, you are doing it right and it will only benefit you and this little girl.

    Hope you were able to catch up on some sleep

    Reply

Leave a Reply

