RSS Feed

Time Flys

We are beginning our fourth week with baby Avery. My how time flys. It feels like she’s been here forever, since the very beginning. In this short amount of time she has learned to crawl, learned to pull herself up on furniture and she found the stairs just today. Time to get the baby gate out! She is all smiles and laughs. She follows me around and lives at my ankles. She has a lot to say and loves making all kinds of sounds.

As far as I know her mom still plans on leaving and may have already left. There has been no contact regarding trying to set up visitation from either.

It’s so hard for me to imagine, as one who would walk through fire for my son, and now for this little girl, to just simply walk away. She is such a blessing to anyone lucky enough to know her. I truly hope that they find the peace that so obviously alludes them at this time. I know that this is hard for them, even if they are unable to react to the loss of their child as what most of us would consider to be “normal”.

Yesterday Avery met her cousin who is eight years old and who was adopted through the same county when he was 3 months old. He is so excited to have an adopted cousin, and I’m so excited for her to have a relative who will know what it’s like to have the feelings that she is destined to have as she is growing up. I hope that even with the age difference, they can grow to offer each other a support that probably only the two of them could offer one another.

All in all everything is going well. I love this chubby, loud, inquisitive baby.

Thank you to all who have visited and thank to ICLW for leading people to my story. We are full of love and hope and we will not let infertility win.

About Tricia #GrowingUpNelson

First grandaughter, mother of two, lover of books and bad music, aspiring to be a mostly vegan always vegetarian. Nearly 365 days Xanax free and hating it. #GrowingUpNelson

4 responses »

  1. This post puts a smile on my face. When we first met Abby, she was already crawling and pulling up, but we did get to see first steps and first teeth. Avery is home where she belongs, and I’m glad y’all are so happy! I hope everything gets settled ASAP.

    Reply
  2. I hope with all my heart that things go well and your little girl becomes your little girl legally. I will keep you in my thoughts. I’m adopted myself, and I know just how lucky I was to be adopted into my wonderful family. Fingers crossed Avery is just as lucky and I look forward to reading the post about her adoption being finalized.

    Reply
  3. You are so strong! I am amazed at your patience and your sense of peace with all of this. I would be a freaking basket case, waiting for the official news. I can’t wait to hear about your official happy ending! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

