RSS Feed

15 Things About Me

Ok so I’m bored and I feel like writing about something other than my obsession with symptoms or my mom’s cancer. So I thought I’d share a few things about myself.

1) I am shy. I over think and analyze everything I say and worry that I’m going to sound dumb. Much of the time I analyze so much that the conversation has passed before I finally decide what to say. I much prefer writing to speaking. It comes naturally and I could go all day long. You don’t have to pull written words out of me like you do spoken. I want to be your friend, but a lot of the time I just don’t know what to say.

2) I am a hypochondriac. In gym class in high school my P.E. teacher got so tired of my self-diagnosed reasons to not participate, that he finally gave up and I worked the stop-watch for most of my high school career. And this was before the internet, when I  had to use a medical dictionary.

3)  I’ve always wanted to live in a big city loft. But life didn’t take me there. I’m finally ok with that.

4) I’m a Scorpio and I fit the description to a ‘T’. Read about me sometime and then decide if you still want to be my friend.

5) My favorite feature about me is my hair. It’s the only thing I can honestly say that I love about my physical self.

6) I have a Bachelor’s degree in English Literature and a Master’s Degree in Education. I started community college in 1997 and finally finished all my schooling in 2010. It was a long road.

7) I am NOT a morning person. Please don’t talk to me until I have had time to wake up, stretch, check my emails and catch up on celebrity gossip on TMZ.

8) My mother-in-law still makes me nervous.

9) I am an insomniac. Its quite a thing for me if I fall asleep before midnight or wake up less than 3 times throughout the night. Mostly I blame my husband and his snoring.

10) I only watch comedies. I am not emotionally capable of a drama. This started when I was a child. Bambi? Once. Dumbo? Once. When I was young I actually hid my kid brother’s copy of The Land Before Time because I couldn’t handle how sad it made me.

11) I love Mexican food and Italian food but am not that huge of a fan of meat. I Love pinot grigio and lemon drop martinis.

12) My first car was a 1982 Mercedes S-Class. This was in 1996. It was huge, the windows didn’t roll down and I had to plug it in to keep the deisel engine warm, even though I live in Southern California. When I spent the night at my best friend’s house I used to have to run an extension cord from her bedroom window to the street where my car was parked so that I could start it and get home in the morning.

13) I learned to drive a stick shift in the pouring rain on a day I had to get to school for a final exam and my car wouldnt start. I had to go 20 minutes distance on both the freeway and on side streets. Nothing like diving right in.

14) My life long dream has always been to be a writer but I am terrified that I will finally write it all down and I will suck and then I will  have bared my soul and set all my dreams on something I am terrible at.

15) I am obsessed with the 1920s. My favorite book is The Great Gatsby. I love Hemingway. If I could travel back in time I think I’d join the expatriates in Paris.

About Tricia #GrowingUpNelson

First grandaughter, mother of two, lover of books and bad music, aspiring to be a mostly vegan always vegetarian. Nearly 365 days Xanax free and hating it. #GrowingUpNelson

One response »

  1. I’m sorry I got so behind!

    1. Yes, me too, all the way!! Even though I delivered pizza for years, still painfully shy and socially awkward.

    3. Me too as well. But I have yet to come to terms with this.

    8. Don’t get me started on MILs.

    9. Yup, me too. If I’m asleep by midnight, I’m up by five at the latest. I spend a lot of time lying in bed thinking, ugh.

    14. This. But now I have two people nagging me every single day to write, so maybe that’ll work?

    I hope things are going okay for you today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

