RSS Feed

Bad Day

My mother has cancer. We are hopeful because there is no other way to be right now. She needs surgery immediately as it is causing an 80% blockage of her colon.
I don’t really know what else to say except that we will not give in to negative thoughts. We will rally and we will fight.
This is one of those times that I question God. WHY?
My life has always been blessed. My grandparents are still healthy. No major tragedies. Was I bound to have something like this happen? Was I past my luck at 33 with no real tragic losses? Is it just my time? But no, we will fight, and we will fight hard. We are a big family and we are a tough family and we will kick cancer’s ass.

11 responses »

  1. oh i’m so sorry to hear your news. it’s not your “time” or anyone’s, it just is what it is. Good luck to you and your mum and family. Deep breaths and stay strong.

    Reply
  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your mom. My thoughts are with you now more than ever.

    Reply
  3. I’m keeping good thoughts for you all. I’m here if you need anything. xoxo

    Reply
  4. I still consider your mom a part of my family too. I hope you know our half of the family is all praying for her. She will pull through, she is tough and she has a LOT of people praying for her. We put her name on the prayer roll of like, 4-5 LDS Temples, which means that every one of the people who go into those temples will also be praying for her-so, literally thousands of prayers per day. We love you-positive thoughts!!!!!

    Reply
    • Thank you Nicole. I told Aidan’s teacher and so now we have his whole school praying for her as well. Lots of prayers. We are so thankful for all of the support. We just have to have hope and faith and prayers and some damn good doctors. Love you!

      Reply
  5. My thoughts are with you! Kick cancer’s butt!!!

    Reply
  6. *hugs* It’s hard when we have to deal with cancer in our lives. There are no words to give you that will make it feel better. Mom used to tell me that the people she saw while she was in treatment that seemed to do the best were the ones who kept their sense of humor and their strength. She said “it’s okay not to be strong all the time – that’s tiring, and our bodies are already tired – but don’t ever give in and stay down”. It sounds to me as if your mom has a fabulously strong support system already, and my thoughts are with you as you figure out how to deal with it.

    Reply
  7. Rachel @ Eggs In A Row

    Oh honey, I’m so sorry. Big hugs and prayers coming your way!

    Reply
  8. I’m sorry to hear about your mom’s diagnosis. I hope the surgery is helpful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

