RSS Feed

I Get Angry Listening to Talk Radio and The Chirstmas Shopping Has Begun!

I was listening to talk radio on my way in to the office this morning and somehow, talk of the Kardashian divorce turned in to talk about sperm donors. This made no sense and there was no segue so don’t even try to figure out how it got there. I’m still not sure. (They were also comparing the Kardashians to Ghadafi, so I guess in hindsight I should have known right there to change the station).  Anyway, they were talking about the man who had fathered 150 children and the lack of monitoring in the infertility “industry”. There was a woman on the phone who had used a sperm donor to have her child due to male factor infertility. Of course, the token comment of “there are hundreds of thousands of children who need homes, why didn’t you just adopt” was made. Of course right then and there I’m wishing I had a phone number to call in because nothing irritates me more than that comment. I’m sure it’s usually innocent and ment with the best intentions, I’m sure, but for someone who has gone through the approval process to adopt and is a “waiting family”, I continually feel the need to educate people regarding the fact that adoption is not as easy as it seems, and you can’t just go pick up a kid off of any ol’ street corner like these fertiles think. And of course the conversation turns to the “the earth is overpopulated already, you have an obligation to adopt rather than pursue fertility treatments”. So the woman on the phone says, “well for you who were able to have biological children of your own, if you think the earth is already overpopulated, why didn’t you make the choice to adopt rather than have your own”. YAY FOR YOU, LADY! That is always my thought when told that infertilies are the ones that are supposed to house the orphans of the world. So one of the women on the show responds with, “Oh but we’re not talking us, we’re  just talking about people who CAN’T HAVE THEIR OWN NATURALLY”. WTF??? At this point I was in the parking lot and had to just shut it off. Which is a good thing because I was honestly starting to take it WAY. TOO. PERSONALLY. I know I’ve ranted on this subject before, but come on. I just can’t believe how people just spout off what others should and shouldn’t do when they have never been in their situation before. How can a fertile person, who has no idea what its like to be unable to conceive for years upon years, tell an infertile person that it is their obligation to adopt. That they have no right to pursue medical treatment. It’s just so damn frustrating to hear…

Well you’ll all be very happy to know that I bought 4 Christmas presents this morning. None of you know much about me, as we’re just getting to know each other.  So I’ll tell you something new. I USUALLY start Christmas shopping at the end of summer and like to be done no later than December first. I compete with myself. Every year I try to beat my own record. And I brag about it. A Lot. “Oh you’re going Christmas shopping today? Poor you braving the mall in all this rain with all those last minute shoppers. Oh no, I don’t need to go, I finished before Thanksgiving“. Yes, I am usually that person. This year? Not so much. I bought my first few Christmas presents only a couple of weeks ago. In my defense, going to Hawaii wasn’t helpful to my Christmas shopping mission. Nor is being on the front lines of the infertility battlefield. However, I reeeeally need to get my butt in gear. I am going in for my FET consult on Monday afternoon. I will be starting a cycle that will more than likely lead to a transfer the first week of December. I don’t want to be all hormonal, deal with a two week wait, and have to deal with the stress of last minute shopping. I think I’ll have a break down. The reason I do the early shopping is because I love the holiday season and I don’t want it to be tainted by the extra stress of having to rush about buying last minute gifts. I really need to get going here, because I think that getting my shopping done and being able to relax and enjoy is more important this year than it has ever been.

So how do you guys do it? Are you the last minute shoppers that usually hate me or are you like me and take pride (meaning feeling abnormal amounts of glee and being all smug)  in being the first of your friends and family to be done?

About Tricia #GrowingUpNelson

First grandaughter, mother of two, lover of books and bad music, aspiring to be a mostly vegan always vegetarian. Nearly 365 days Xanax free and hating it. #GrowingUpNelson

7 responses »

  1. I hate that sentiment. Do these people tell cancer patients they shouldn’t seek treatment and just die because of overpopulation?

    I try to get shopping done early. In fact, I vow to do it every year. But I usually don’t. My husband loves black Friday, so I get dragged along then. I do, however, get everything in one trip. But I don’t hate the people who get it done early, I’m just envious.

    Reply
    • We are usually camping on Thanksgiving or one of us is sick, so I’ve never done the Black Friday thing. I don’t think I could handle it. I’m not good with crowds or lines or being patient!
      And I hate that sentiment too. And the reason I hate it so much is because the people that say it don’t think it applies to them. If you believe that strongly in the world’s overpopulation problem, why didn’t you adopt?!

      Reply
  2. I had my coworker tell me this TODAY! We were talking about my brother (who since my a.m. post has been diagnosed with autoimmune Chrone’s). I expressed my worry that htye might put him on meds that would make it so they can’t have children and she looked at me and said, “Well there are thousands of children needing homes. It’s not a big deal if you can’t have your own.”
    I have been shooting up hormones for more than 20 days now so it took EVERY OUNCE of self control to not rip her a new one! How can people be so dense?

    As for holiday shopping: I am ALWAYS painfully last minute. It is so stressful and takes all the fun out of things. Your preparedness is inspiring. Maybe I’ll start my list this weekend!

    Reply
  3. Omg. Almost nothing sets me off worse than a comment like that. Does no one think? Adoption is a lengthy And expensive process. Are these radio people God now! They get to decide who should have bio children and who should adopt? Ugh! I could rant about that for hours!

    Reply
  4. OMG! I hate that sentiment too! In fact I was looking at a blog last night about someone who struggled with IVF and moved onto adoption only to have several failed adoptions and is STILL waiting to adopt. I’ve just accepted the fact that fertiles are totally clueless. Hats off to the lady who spoke up- fertiles can adopt too.

    Reply
  5. I used to be that person who had all the shopping done by the end of November. But it seems to get later and later every year!
    I can’t imagine going through a transfer in December. There’s just so much going on! Keepin’ my fingers crossed y’all get the best Christmas present, ever!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

