RSS Feed

Sunday Ramblings

Sitting here watching the Weather Channel, people riding in boats and canoes down the streets. Flooding, sinkholes, downed trees… It could always be  worse. My family could be in danger or my home could be under water. Being so far removed from it, it is hard to imagine. I wish everyone in the thick of it the very best.

Tomorrow is the first day of first grade and so today we are preparing for that. Grocery shopping, done. Buy uniform shirts, done. School supplies check list, done. I love my boy more than ANYTHING in this world, but I can honestly say that this has been the LONGEST summer of my life. With trying to get the business off the ground, going through our first IVF cycle, and subsequent miscarriage, I’m telling you, the first day of school couldn’t have come soon enough. The kid needs the structure. He needs to get back to his routine, get back to learning, get back to all of his school friends. I’m hoping that getting back to school will be a relief from the stress that he has surely felt here at home. Heck, I need the structure and the routine and to be able to go to work and not have a BORED 6 1/2 year old in tow. It’ll be good for him to be in the classroom and to be surrounded by the friends he’s had since pre-school, instead of stuck in the house with me because its 110 degrees and just to damn hot to go outside.

I’m sure tomorrow I’ll be bawling, watching him go off, not even to Kindergarten now, but to FIRST grade. In the DIGITS. My gosh time flies. Can’t I slow it down somehow? Make it stop? Keep him little forever?

About Tricia #GrowingUpNelson

First grandaughter, mother of two, lover of books and bad music, aspiring to be a mostly vegan always vegetarian. Nearly 365 days Xanax free and hating it. #GrowingUpNelson

Leave a Reply

